Best breakfast bars ever

After my granola fail of a few weeks ago, it’s nice to actually score a win in the kitchen when it comes to making something new, and healthy, for breakfast.

Enter: the best breakfast bars ever.breakfast bars2

First, let me say that it helped to actually have peanut butter on hand this time. Must remember: when a recipe calls for peanut butter, use peanut butter. Not molasses.

Second, Joel informs me that these bars also make very tasty recovery snacks post workout. After nomming on them this morning after my run, I have to agree.

Here’s how you make em. You’ll need:

  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1-1 1/2 cups peanut butter
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 5 cups bran flakes cereal
  • 1 package of dried cranberrie (or craisins, or as I like to call them, crazy raisins)

Basically, melt the brown sugar and honey together in a medium saucepan until the sugar is also melted. Then, dump in your peanut butter. I was paranoid about running out again, so I only used a cup but I could probably stand to use a little more. My bars don’t hold together all that well (though that doesn’t affect their yummy taste). Throw in the cinnamon as well.

Then, throw in your favorite bran cereal. We chose the Kroger version of raisin bran crunch because it’s our favorite, and we’ll eat the leftovers. But because there was already raisins in the cereal, I only used one-third of the bag of craisins (which I love using in my oatmeal).

Once you mix everything together, then dump it into a 9×9 brownie pan or, if you’re like me, a 13×9 cake pan. Make sure to line your pan with aluminum foil first. Smush it all down and then stick it in the fridge overnight or until they harden. Then EAT because they’re SO FREAKING GOOD. Sweet and peanut-buttery with just a hint of cinnamon, they’re hearty and filling and perfect for breakfast.

One thought on “Best breakfast bars ever

  1. Pingback: Monday Notes: May 20 | Paperback Fool

Leave a Reply

